Student Counselling Service offers free social and psychological aid to students who are attending further and higher educations. If you are enrolled in an SU-approved further/higher education and actively studying, we are here to help. We are able to help with everything from psychological issues to more practical concerns about SU, maternity leave or illness.


Student Counselling Service was founded in 1964 and is a national institution belonging under the Ministry of Science and Higher Education. We have more than 50 years of experience with helping students thrive in their studies.

We concurrently work to prevent discontentment and unhappiness among the students, which we for instance do by supporting the educational institutions’ work with study environment and the wellbeing of students.

Since 2014, Student Counselling Service has cooperated with The Office for SPS and Retention and The Ministry of Education and Quality. Student Counselling Service offers Special Pedagogical Support (SPS) to students with psychological functional impairments as well as competency development for those who support students with psychological functional impairments.

The purpose of SPS is to ensure that people with physical or psychological functional impairments may complete an education on equal footing as other students. A psychological functional impairment can include anxiety disorders (e.g. OCD, PTSD), affective disorders (e.g. depression and bipolar), schizophrenia and other psychoses, personality disorders, eating disorders and developmental disorders (e.g. ADHD and autism).

Student Counselling Service’s work is funded by the government and figures as an independent paragraph in the Finance Bill.

  • The board of directors

    Student Counselling Service has a consultative board, consisting of:

    Jørgen Jensen (formand)

    Udpeget af Danske Universiteter

    Rie Snekkerup

    Vicedirektør for Uddannelsesservice
    Københavns Universitet
    Udpeget af Danske Universiteter

    Susanne Dixen

    Erhvervsakademi Dania
    Udpeget af Danske Erhvervsakademier

    Jonna Frølich

    VIA University College
    Udpeget af Danske Professionshøjskoler

    Camilla Hutters

    Leder af Nationalt Center for Erhvervspædagogik
    Københavns Professionshøjskole
    Udpeget af bestyrelsen

    Michella Søndergaard

    Danske Studerendes Fællesråd (DSF)
    Udpeget af DSF

    Cecilie Louise Stabell

    Udpeget af Studenterforum UC

    Charly Ngigi

    Udpeget af DESO


We use cookies to collect statistics about the way our website is used. By clicking 'Accept' you agree to the use of cookies for statistics purposes. If you click 'Deny', we will not set cookies for statistics. Read more